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COMMERCIAL 
PENSACOLA BEACH 

 
ECUA 

9255 STURDEVANT ST 
850-476-5110 

 
CUSTOMER SERVICE 

850-476-0480 
Monday-Friday 
8:30am-5:00pm 

 
AFTER HOURS OR 

WEEKENDS 
850-476-5110 

 
History of the Emerald Coast Utilities  

Authority 
The ECUA was originally created in 1981 
by an Act of the Florida Legislature to own, 
manage, finance, promote, improve and 
expand the water and wastewater systems 
of Escambia County and the City of 
Pensacola.   ECUA exists under the laws of 
the State of Florida and is governed by a 
five-member board. Each member is 
elected within one of the five County 
districts. 

 

ECUA Mission Statement 
The people and resources of the Emerald 
Coast Utilities Authority are committed to 
providing the citizens of Escambia County 
with service to the highest quality.  We are 
dedicated to meeting the needs of our 
customers in a courteous and responsive 
manner.  
 

Security Deposits 
The security deposit protects the ECUA 
against potential losses arising from 
customer failure to pay for services. 
Deposits will be retained and applied 
against final bills.  All deposits will earn 
interest at the rate determined by the 
ECUA. 
 
Service        Water &        Water   Sewer 
Size       Sewer           Only              Only_ 
5/8”           $ 118.25     $  32.25        $  86.00 
3/4”              215.25         48.75          166.50 
1”                 268.50         53.75          214.75 
1 1/2”           724.50       161.00          563.50 
2”               1449.00       322.00        1127.00 
3”               5366.00       858.50        4507.50 
4” & above 7888.00     1288.00        6600.00 
 
Commercial customers will be required to 
increase their security deposit to 2 1/2 
times their average bill if during any 
consecutive 12-month period they fail to 
pay three or more utility bills within 45 days 
after the bill is mailed.  All non-residential 
customers may post a surety bond or 
Irrevocable Letter of Credit in lieu of a cash 
deposits for a 2 inch or larger meter. 
 

 

Fire Hydrant Meter Deposit 
Fire hydrant meters are available to 
provide temporary water service.  A 
deposit is required before the meter will be 
installed.  A termination request must be 
received prior to refunding the deposit.  
Charges for water usage are based on the 
minimum charge for a 3” meter, $355.48 
up to 50,000 gallons plus $5.38 per 
additional 1,000 gallons. 
 
Installation   $     38.75 
Backflow Fee          10.00 
Deposit       1,080.50 
Total    $ 1,129.25 

 
 

Pensacola Beach Commercial Rates 
These are the current monthly rates which 
are subject to change based on ECUA 
Board action. All fees are based on meter 
size. 

Water 
Meter Size   Rate 
5/8”     up to 10,000 gals   $ 71.12 
1”        up to 20,000 gals              142.19 
1 1/2”  up to 30,000 gals     213.28 
2”        up to 40,000 gals     284.38 
3”        up to 50,000 gals    355.48 
4”        up to 60,000 gals              425.48 
5”        up to 70,000 gals              497.52 
6”        up to 80,000 gals              568.76 
 
If over minimum gallons used, price is 
$5.38 per additional 1,000 gallons. 
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Sewer 
Meter Size   Rate 
5/8”      up to 10,000 gals $130.19 
1”         up to 20,000 gals          260.33 
1 1/2”   up to 30,000 gals        390.57 
2” +      up to 40,000 gals   520.69 
 
If over minimum gallons used, price is 
$9.04 per additional 1,000 gallons. 
 

Motels/Hotels 
 

Water Rates 
Up to 4,000 gallons per unit       $23.74 
 
Over 4,000 gallons per unit            5.08 
     per 1,000 gallons 
 

Sewer Rates 
Up to 3,000 gallons per unit       $32.75 
 
Over 3,000 gallons per unit            5.44 
     per 1,000 gallons 

 
Fire Line Charge 

Other than single family residential 
Mainland/Pensacola Beach 

 
Fire Line Size                  Monthly Charge 
2” or less                                  $  5.50 
3”  8.25 
4” 10.75 
6” 21.50 
8” 28.50 
10” 45.50 
12” 60.25 
 

 

Fees 
All fees are subject to change based on 
ECUA Board action. 
 
Service Fee 
When customers request a meter be 
turned on or off, there will be a $10.75 
service charge. This fee does not apply to 
a customer terminating services and 
receiving a final bill. 
 
Same Day Service Fee 
When a customer requests same day 
service, a fee of $26.75 will be charged 
when requested after 11:00 a.m. This fee is 
in addition to the $10.75 service fee. 
 
Delinquent Processing Fee 
When service has been disconnected due 
to non-payment, the processing fee is 
$32.25 prior to 11:00 p.m. After 11:00 p.m. 
weekdays or anytime during holidays or 
weekends, the fee is $70.00. 
 
Returned Check Fee 
Payments that are returned for any reason 
are subject to a $16.25 service fee. 
 

Meter Test Fees 
Meter test fees are based on meter size 
and are done at the request of the 
customer: 
Less than 1 1/2”   $ 43.00 
1 1/2” to 2”      80.75 
Larger than 2”    214.75 
 
No fee will be charged if result of test is 
more than 5% in error. 

Sewer Improvement Fee 
Other than single family residential  

 
Average Gallons   Monthly 
Used Per Month                    Charge_ 
Up to 3,000   $  7.00 
3,001-15,000     10.00 
15,001-30,000     25.00 
30,001-50,000     50.00 
50,001-100,000   100.00 
100,001-200,000   200.00 
200,001-500,000   300.00 
500,001 and up   500.00 
 
Average gallons used per month will be 
fixed for an annual period based upon 
average water consumption from May 1 to 
April 30.  Other than single family 
residential customers who do not have 
adequate account history from which to 
compute an annual average water 
consumption shall have their monthly 
charge based upon anticipated monthly 
usage.  
 

Capital Improvement Fee 
Meter Size   Water           Wastewater 

    Only          Only 
5/8”   $ 2.50      $  2.50 
3/4”        3.75             3.75 
1”      7.50            7.50 
1 ½”          10.00          10.00 
2”     62.50         62.50 
3”  100.00       100.00 
4”  300.00      300.00 
6”  500.00      500.00 
8”  500.00      500.00 
10”  500.00      500.00 
12”  500.00      500.00 
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Disposal of Domestic Septage, 
Portable Toilet and Grease Trap Waste 

The charge for the disposal of domestic 
septage, portable toilet, and grease trap 
waste is $81.00 per one thousand (1,000) 
gallons during normal operating hours, i.e., 
non-holiday weekdays from 7:00am to 
5:00pm, and $121.50 per one thousand 
(1,000) gallons at all times outside the 
normal operating hours defined above. 

 
Commercial Impact and Connection 

Fees for New Construction 
Each applicant for new water and sewer 
service will be required to pay impact and 
connection fees.  Fees are site specific and 
are not refundable. 

 
Water 

Meter Size                                 Impact Fee 
5/8”                                              $   998.00 
1”                                                 $2,626.00 

Sewer 
Meter Size              Impact Fee 
5/8”                                              $1,835.00 
1”                                                 $4,832.00 
 
For meters greater than 1” in size, a large 
meter contract is required and impact fees 
are based on a gallon per day usage rate.  
Currently, the minimum water impact fee 
for non-residential meters 1 1/2” or larger 
is $3,630.00. Water impact fees per 100 
gallons of average daily flow is $363.00.  
The minimum sewer impact fee for non-
residential meters 1 1/2” or larger is 
$6,670.00. Sewer impact fees per 100 
gallons of average daily flow is $667.00.  

These are the current impact fees and are 
subject to change from time to time based 
on ECUA Board action. 

 
Connection Fees 

In addition to the water and sewer impact 
fees listed above, there is a separate 
connection fee for water and sewer. The 
owner or developer is responsible for 
installing water and sewer services at the 
owner’s expense. Please contact our 
Customer Service Call Center at 476-0480 
for a price quote on both of these services.  
All fees must be paid prior to the initiation 
of services.  

 
Cross Connection Control 

ECUA requires all new commercial water 
customers to install and maintain a 
backflow prevention assembly on the water 
service.  This is also a requirement of the 
Escambia County Building Code.  Prior to 
receiving a Certificate of Occupancy, a 
backflow prevention assembly must be 
installed on the customer’s water supply 
line between the water meter and the 
building to be served.  The backflow 
assembly must also be installed on all fire 
protection systems connected to the ECUA 
water supply.  The installation of backflow 
prevention assemblies must be inspected 
by the ECUA.  All backflow prevention 
assemblies must be tested annually.  
Testing must be conducted by a certified 
backflow prevention assembly tester and 
the results of the testing must be reported 
to ECUA. 

 

Food Service Establishments 
ECUA requires all new commercial Food 
Service Establishments which discharges 
into the wastewater system shall be 
charged $25.00 per month. Food Service 
Establishments are required to install and 
maintain grease interceptors/traps of the 
design and capacity specified by the 
Florida Plumbing Code.  
 
Each new Food Service Establishment 
must register with the ECUA as producers 
of Fats, Oils and Grease.  Each 
establishment must be pumped in 
accordance with the ECUA ordinance. 
 

 
 

Need to make a payment? 
Payments can be made by phone by 
calling 850-512-1548 or online at 
www.ecua.fl.gov. A convenience fee of 
2.9% for credit cards, will be charged for 
using this service. 
 

You may also mail your bill payment to: 
ECUA 

PO Box 17089 
Pensacola FL 32522-7089 

 
Payments are also accepted at any 
Hancock Bank location, provided you are 
paying the current bill by check and you 
have your payment stub.  
 

http://www.ecua.fl.gov/

